Fat as Hell…

and not going to take it anymore!

Healthy You Challenge — Update 1

*drumroll please*

258.3lbs – 254.0lbs = -4.3lbs

4.3lbs in a week is a *huge* loss for me. 2lbs a week, *if* I do what I’m supposed to all week, is usually the most I can hope for and is what I’ve come to “shoot” for as a result. Anything else is gratis.

I guess getting “back on track” after a few weeks of only half-heartedly doing this has made a difference. Plus, and I’m sure you’ll agree… marking a loss is always a great motivator. For me, seeing a loss on the scale is *always* so much more motivating than seeing a gain. I read some bloggers who say that they need the occasional “kick in the ass” of a gain to get them back in the game… but not me. A gain only serves to make me feel more defeated. I find that, for me, one loss begets another loss and so on. That said, I hope this marks the beginning of a roll.

1.jpgIt was a lovely weekend here, and we took full advantage of the good weather by moving our exercising outdoors. On Saturday, I did a 3 mile walk around an area that the locals call “the loop.” I live right across the bridge from a set of barrier islands that are nestled between the mainland and the Atlantic ocean. “The loop” is a public footpath that starts on one side of the islands, travels across one bridge and over the intracoastal waterway, runs parallel to the ocean, then back across another bridge and then back around. It’s really quite lovely, and although I was really more focused on my walk then the view, I did snap this picture along the way, so I’d have something to show you guys. At this point, I was just about to cross one bridge, and if you click on the picture to make it larger, you’ll see the *other* bridge that would bring me back around, far off in the distance.

2.jpgThen, on Sunday, my husband and I took a walk through a park that’s right in our neighborhood, but that we’d never been to. It was beautiful, overlooks a marshy area and then a different part of the intracoastal waterway that I got to traverse the day before. In the end, we surely marked that spot as a good “picnic place” when the weather is really nice, but it wasn’t much of a “walk” so we decided to walk the same “nature trail” that we did last week. By the time we reached the last mile of the trail, I’d walked *at least* 6 miles in two days, and I have to admit I was feeling it. I wasn’t *nearly* as out of breath as my two dogs though who, in the main, seemed to be as glad to be outside as I was.

Anyway, it felt so good to be outside and I couldn’t help but feel that all this walking was doing more for me than the exercise I’ve been able to do while cooped up in the house all winter. My husband and I are “talking about” buying tennis rackets and then trying our hand at that once the weather really settles into spring and then summer… but we’ll see. Neither one of us is particularly “sporty” so I imagine such an effort would be good for a laugh, if nothing else.

One last thing. I’m really having trouble keeping up with my food and exercise journals. I’m still, absolutely, counting calories and sticking within my limits (as evidenced by my loss last week) I just haven’t had time to record them. For some reason, I feel racked with guilt over this. Part of me feels like I’m “cheating” by not writing all this stuff down — while another part of me feels like that’s ridiculous because, prior to starting this blog, I *never* kept a food or exercise journal. The thing is, I don’t want to get so bogged down in the administrative details of this that the pressure of having to write everything down knocks me off course. On the other hand, I don’t want to start slacking and sliding *because* I haven’t held myself to account by writing everything down.

It makes me wonder, because I read a lot of weight loss/health related blogs and I don’t really see *that* many food/exercise journals. Do you guys find them necessary or even helpful?

Anyway… I’m off to face Monday.
Happy new week everybody!

March 24, 2008 - Posted by | exercise, healthy you challenge, weigh day | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. Congratulations on a fabulous loss! Well done!

    I think being able to exercise outdoors will make a huge difference for a lot of people.

    Comment by Hanlie | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Way to go, jtf! *happy dance for the weight loss*

    As for the journaling, I, myself, have tried to steer clear of it because I don’t want to be dependent on it, I want to just be able to eat normally and trust myself around any and all foods. But, where you are starting to question your journaling, I (just yesterday!) started to think that maybe I should START journaling, that maybe I need to start paying more attention to the mechanics of weight loss rather than keep focusing on my emotional issues which lead me to overeat — as you know, even though I feel I’ve made great progress, my actual poundage loss has been extremely slow. I’m now wondering if I should give in and create a bureaucracy for myself, you know, forms and tracking sheets and calculators and signatures required — the paperwork of weight loss that seems to work so well for so many others. :)

    Comment by BikiniMe | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. OMG
    you did awesome!!!!!
    I’m so excited for/proud of you.

    I don’t know how you track your food and such, but I know that DietTV (dot com) has a way for you to track your food by texting what you ate to them and it gets added to your tracker. I’ve never used this (or I should say I haven’t yet) but if you have a text messaging plan with your cell phone then it might be an easier way to keep track of things and then you can log into the site every once in awhile to review/edit as needed.

    Hope that helps and again I’m so super proud of you!!!!

    -R

    Comment by Rose | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. OMG cute dogs! and AWESOME weightloss! Grats Chica!

    Comment by Ready2Shrink | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. Congrats on the loss! That’s terrific!

    Comment by fatbridesmaid | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  6. I am so happy for you. I too have started walking for exercise and have started attending a gym. I continue to lose weight. and continuously ‘journal’ my daily intake of calories/carbs/fat etc. But for some reason, come Friday, Saturday and Sunday, I don’t do so well. It’s like free time, you know drink beer, eat pizza, etc. But then comes the next week and the weigh in and I want to kick myself for being such a loser on the weekend. (I know..a vicious cycle). I have a 2lb. a week goal, so far so good. I would like to lose at least another 30 pounds, it doesn’t sound like much to some people, but heck it’s alot. any how, I just wanted to give you some encouragement and tell you that you have a support system. Keep in touch, and the best of luck to you!!

    Comment by permanentink63 | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  7. Well done! I know how euphoric I felt when I lost that much one week.

    Comment by Paola | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  8. Congrats on the loss this week! I was *suppose* to weigh in today, but avoided. I ate too many sweets of Easter weekend.

    It’s a new week though!

    Comment by amandacwheeler | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hi! I’ve been reading your site for a few weeks now!! I just wanted to leave a comment about journaling. I use a program called fitday which is free at fitday.com or you can buy the whole program like it I did. It does all the work for you and you can put in the nutrition labels from all your food so you know exactly what you’re eating, and it tracks exercise too! Thanks!

    Comment by Megan | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  10. What fantastic results! I’m thrilled for you!

    I stopped logging food on sparkpeople, but I do keep a running tally all day. I got over the feeling that I wasn’t “on plan” by committing to myself that two significant “up weeks” in a row means I’ll log again. It will help to uncover any problems, plus it will get me re-disciplined. :)
    For now, it’s working okay. I think it will for you, too!

    Oh, and how much do I love schnauzers, and your’s are real cuties!

    Comment by Cammy | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  11. Does your husband walk with you of his own free will :+D ? What a good guy.

    4.3 lbs in a week is a huge amount to lose. I’d be happy with 1 lb!

    Comment by roomalone | March 25, 2008 | Reply

  12. What a great loss! Good stuff and keep it up.

    Comment by AndrewE | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  13. I just came across your blog and wanted to send my congratulations as well on your amazing loss this week! Keep up the great work!

    Your schnauzers are absolutely adorable! We’ve had two in our family, and they are just wonderfully loyal, brave little companions.

    Best wishes for another great week!

    Comment by Marianna | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  14. way to kick ass on the weekend walking, dude. 6 miles in 2 days is fantastic! and more than four pounds lost? i can only imagine that you must be walking on clouds right now!!

    re: food journals… personally, i do a fast and loose record of my intake through weight watchers online and more recently at spark peeps… now i can talk myself into just about any kind of sweet or salty snack that exists, but seeing the numbers add up, getting in the routine of adding numbers… well, that keeps me a little more honest with myself. personally, i don’t enjoy reading about other folk’s numbers or food diaries – this is some of the dryest reading around. but hey, to each his own! sounds like you’ve got a fairly sound approach to your own process… one doesn’t achieve a 4lb loss without doing SOMETHING really right!

    Comment by belly | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  15. Bikini: I think you make some good points about journaling. I’ve been on the fence about it, but after this week (I’ve not eaten well and not exercised at all) I think I probably need to get back to it. Apparently I still need that apparatus in my life.

    Rose: Thank you! You’re such a doll. I actually use fitday quite a lot to work out calories and whatnot. I’m not thrilled with the clunkiness of it, but I can’t seem to work out sparkpeople (though I know lots of people love it). I’m going to check out dietTV.com, even though I don’t subscribe to a texting service right now. Gosh, it sound cool, though! :)

    permanentink: it’s funny, but recently, I’ve been doing BETTER on the weekends than I have during the week. I don’t know what my deal is. Anyway, good luck to you, girl. It sounds like you’re on the right path! :)

    Megan: Thanks! I use fitday too, though I don’t *love* it. Maybe I need to think more about *how* I journal rather than whether or not I am going to do it. Hmmmm. Thanks for popping by!

    Cammy: of all the bloggers I read, you’re right up there as one whose advice I really value. You seem to have hit on some really important and successful keys to making this all work. I think I’m going to start wearing a bracelet that says WWCD: what would Cammy do? :)

    Roomalone: He does! I don’t even have to put him on a leash like one of the dogs! :)

    Marianna: Thanks! Our dogs are completely incorrigible, but I adore them.. what can I say?

    Belly: I know! Paola and Krissie’s are about the only food journals I can stomach (har!) but I’m pretty sure that’s just because the have pictures!

    Hanlie, ReadytoShrink, FatBridesMaid, Paola and Andrew: You guys rock my socks. Thanks for cheering me on!

    Cheers!
    j

    Comment by justoofat | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  16. I just found another food diary with photos: The Kim Challenge

    Comment by Paola | April 8, 2008 | Reply

  17. Paola: Ooooh. I need to check it out. (Though I doubt anyone’s food could look as good as yours). :)

    j

    Comment by justoofat | April 8, 2008 | Reply

  18. […] excited about logging these steps and earning this cool new badge for my sidebar.  Anyway, the walk is one I’ve done before minus the overlapping inset that pushes it over the 5k […]

    Pingback by An Experiment « Fat as Hell… | May 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment