Fat as Hell…

and not going to take it anymore!

“We are what we repeatedly do. Therefore, excellence is not an act. It is a habit.” — Aristotle

I’ve heard it said that it takes approximately 21 days to build a habit. For example, if each day, for 21 days, you come home from work and force yourself to step immediately onto the exercise bike, pedal for 30 minutes and then go think about what you want for dinner, on the 22nd day,(or thereabouts) you won’t have to force yourself. It will be a habit… just like getting up and brushing your teeth each morning. It will require no thought. It will just be something you do. 21 days to build a habit.

I wonder how many days it takes to break a bad one?

Lately, I’ve been pretty hard on myself for making some bad choices that have significantly slowed my weight loss. As the token fat girl in most situations, over the years I’ve worked hard to cultivate my wit and intelligence, rather than try to compete with the “skinny girls” who, in my mind, never had to be particularly smart or funny because what they lacked in substance they made up for in other, far more superficial, ways. (I know… I know, this is an unfair assessment, but it is honest.) That said, I’m not particularly tolerant with myself when I do something that I consider to be stupid. And let’s face it, eating a whole plate full of fried chicken when you’re attempting to lose weight and be healthy isn’t going to qualify you for mensa.

However, a recent post over at questions for dessert has got me thinking. In it, Krissie talks a bit about how the good habits in her life are starting to overshadow or “crowd out” the bad ones. She says: “I am a new person most of the time. And that’s good enough. I’m never going to be perfect. But I can be healthy repeatedly, and let that crowd out my mistakes.” For me, these words have been particularly inspiring.

When I think about the life I am living now, I realize that I too am being healthy *most* of the time. And when I think about the life I lead now versus the one I used to live… well, there’s no comparison. Yes. I fuck up sometimes. We all do. But what I have to remember is that one mistake doesn’t equate to an entire change of lifestyle. The thing that, perhaps, I’ve lost sight of is that it’s taken me six months to transform the miserably unhealthy life that I was living into the happier and healthier one I’m living now. It takes more that one day’s slip up to undo what has, over time, turned into a habit for me.

I may not be at the level of physical activity that I’d like to be at yet, but exercising nearly every day *has* become a habit for me. I may sometimes order an unhealthy choice at dinner, but measuring my portions and counting up calories *has* become a habit for me. I may sometimes make bad choices, but making the right ones *has* become a habit for me.

Krissie is right. I won’t ever be perfect, but I can be “healthy repeatedly, and let that crowd out my mistakes.”

Brilliant.

January 16, 2008 - Posted by | exercise, health, losing weight, motivation | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

62 Comments »

  1. You have the right outlook and that will help you to get to your goel. At least that is what I am telling myself!

    Comment by lululeelee | January 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. great post!

    Comment by HONI | January 16, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks guys! :)

    Comment by justoofat | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. Good for you! This is amazing, I was just searching for the author of that quote as I am finishing my book and read what you wrote. Be proud, it takes something to do what you are doing! And sharing is inspiring others to do the same.

    There are some articles and videos on my website about motivations, goals etc, if you need any further support but it sounds like you have resolved for a new healthy body and are well on your way.

    Thanks for sharing this, just wanted to acknowledge how great you are doing!

    xoxo You GO GIRL!!!!!!

    ‘Who you are in each moment creates your future!’

    ROBIN H-C

    Comment by Robin H-C | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Congratulations on your accomplishments! I love when people “just do it” instead of talking about it! You are on your way to unimaginable happiness and self esteem. Good luck!

    Comment by simona | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. hello it is test. WinRAR provides the full RAR and ZIP file support, can decompress CAB, GZIP, ACE and other archive formats.

    Comment by xuxppxxuxyyy | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  7. qnrnjxlfegbuxfkwwell, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch ;)

    Comment by ErrorseBubUncooni | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] burkina faso elmo today show aesop alyson hannigan dirt 3 la fitness LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "333333"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "0066cc"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "f2f7fc"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "ff4b33"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddSlot("LD_ROS_300-WEB"); LD_GetBids(); Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. ← Out & About […]

    Pingback by Is Obama running an underdog or front-runner campaign? Sometimes it’s hard to tell. (Star Tribune) | kadufadak | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  9. Good for you! You can do this.

    Comment by Where To Buy Phen375 | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  10. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and if I may just I want to recommend you some fascinating issues or advice. Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article. I desire to read more issues approximately it!

    Comment by how many calories should i eat | December 5, 2011 | Reply

  11. I appreicate your attitude and I especially like that you’re not making excuses for your weight. You have control and yes while some people may have it a little easier, no one truly looks good just by doing nothing. We all have something to work on and its up to us to work on it continually.

    The only thing I will say is that you have to resist the typical “fat girl” mantra of “skinny girls are not as witty and intelligent”. This really comes off bitter and unrealistic. Fat girls do not have the corner market on good personality. In fact, I will say that most fat girls I’ve met actually have worst personalities than the attractive girls simply because life treats the thinner girls better and they have a sunnier outlook on life. In the end you’re no different than the girls who look great in little black dresses or bikinis, the only difference is that they didn’t fall into some of the earlier unhealthy habits you did. As you undo these bad habits you’ll be just fine.

    Comment by Baller08 | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  12. May I simply just say what a relief to uncover someone who truly knows what they’re discussing over the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people need to check this out and understand this side of the story. I was surprised that you are not more popular given that you definitely have the gift.

    Comment by how fat loss | May 16, 2012 | Reply

  13. Thanks for posting this . I have been looking for something like this . Wonderful information I’ll check back for more info in regards to the fibromyalgia diet.

    Comment by http://www.fibromyalgiadietkit.com | July 17, 2012 | Reply

  14. Providing you could follow your strategy, along with continue to add for your
    requirements regularly, not just would you like
    to possess the way of life you’ve got always dreamed of, however you’ll be able for you to stop working together
    with self-esteem by simply sticking with your current prepare though buying and selling inside
    the go back current market. In case you have a new very well considered game
    plan, you won’t need to only possibly be profitable, although it is possible to create on your own way up for your retirement as well. In the ideal globe, you would be able to come out at the top with all of your deals.

    Comment by go back | June 27, 2013 | Reply

  15. Hello there I am so grateful I found your
    weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Aol for
    something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic
    post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

    Comment by weight loss tips | July 2, 2013 | Reply

  16. Yοuг style is very unique in comрarison to other fopks I
    have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just book mark ths webb site.

    Comment by capitaine phillips telecharger | December 13, 2013 | Reply

  17. Yeѕ! Finallу somеone writes about avfast premier 2014 licence
    key.

    Comment by avast premier 2014 crack telecharger | December 13, 2013 | Reply

  18. Wоw, that’s what I was searching for, what a material!

    present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this
    web ѕite.

    Comment by quai d'orsay telecharger | December 13, 2013 | Reply

  19. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run
    into any internet browser compatibility problems? A few
    of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not
    operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

    Comment by jamesy boy telecharger | January 24, 2014 | Reply

  20. If you desire to increase your experience just keep visiting
    this web page and be updated with the latest news posted here.

    Comment by MOVIE download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  21. Howdy! I simply wish to offer you a big thumbs up for the excellent information you have got here on this post.

    I am coming back to your website for more
    soon.

    Comment by open grave download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  22. What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I loved this post.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!

    Comment by the wind rises download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  23. Very quickly this website will be famous among all blogging users, due to it’s good articles

    Comment by black coffee download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  24. Hello I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by
    accident, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I
    have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

    Comment by pompei download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  25. Your method of describing the whole thing in this piece of writing is really good, all be capable of effortlessly understand it, Thanks a lot.

    Comment by Best Night Ever download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  26. What’s up, I desire to subscribe for this blog to obtain hottest updates,
    so where can i do it please help.

    Comment by G.B.F. Download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  27. I like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

    Comment by beyond outrage download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  28. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a
    blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you,
    you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something not
    enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I came across this in my hunt for something relating to this.

    Comment by the son of god film gratis | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  29. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

    Comment by the wind rises gratis | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  30. Excellent weblog right here! Also your website lots up fast!
    What web host are you using? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink on
    your host? I want my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    Comment by the past film gratis | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  31. Wow, marvelous weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The entire look of your site is magnificent,
    let alone the content material!

    Comment by Expecting Film Gratis | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  32. I drop a leave a response whenever I like a article on
    a site or if I have something to contribute
    to the discussion. It is a result of the passion communicated in the post I read.
    And on this post We are what we repeatedly do. Therefore, excellence is not an act.

    It is a habit. – Aristotle Fat as Hell. I was actually excited enough to post a
    comment ;) I actually do have some questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it just me or does it appear like a few of the remarks appear as if they
    are written by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I’d like to keep up with anything new
    you have to post. Could you make a list every one
    of all your shared pages like your twitter
    feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    Comment by the banshee chapter gratis | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  33. I blog frequently and I seriously thank
    you for your content. The article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will book mark your blog and keep checking for
    new information about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.

    Comment by swerve film download | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  34. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this
    excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

    Comment by the selfish giant gratis | February 17, 2014 | Reply

  35. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d
    like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

    Comment by tyler perrys amadea christmas download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  36. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web page, as i wish for enjoyment,
    for the reason that this this website conations really
    fastidious funny material too.

    Comment by the past download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  37. It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed
    people for this subject, but you seem like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

    Comment by nurse 3D film gratis | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  38. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any tips or suggestions? With thanks

    Comment by paradise hope download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  39. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your site provided us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

    Comment by august osage county download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  40. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough
    time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems
    different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Comment by funny images | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  41. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this
    blog. I am hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts by
    you in the future as well. In truth, your creative
    writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own
    website now ;)

    Comment by frozen movie download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  42. Outstanding post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit
    further. Cheers!

    Comment by out of the furnace gratis | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  43. Hey there! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website like yours require a large amount of
    work? I am completely new to blogging however
    I do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I
    can share my own experience and feelings online.

    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.

    Thankyou!

    Comment by Lego Film gratis | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  44. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will
    make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back very soon.
    I want to encourage one to continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

    Comment by terra preta | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  45. Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness
    in your post is just spectacular and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with
    forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

    Comment by the nut job gratis | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  46. I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading extremely slow for
    me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a
    issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

    Comment by G.B.F. Film Gratis | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  47. I have read so many content on the topic of the blogger lovers however
    this piece of writing is actually a good paragraph, keep it up.

    Comment by 24 Exposures Gratis | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  48. I read this post completely regarding the comparison of most
    up-to-date and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

    Comment by welcome to yesterday download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  49. Hello superb blog! Does running a blog like this take a large amount of
    work? I’ve very little understanding of computer programming but
    I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow,
    should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off topic but I simply wanted to ask. Thank
    you!

    Comment by lone survivor download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  50. Excellent way of describing, and good post to take information regarding my presentation focus, which i
    am going to convey in college.

    Comment by dear mr watterson download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  51. I think this is among the most important information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The
    web site style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

    Comment by date and switch film gratis | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  52. This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    Comment by transformers 4 age of extinction download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  53. I tend not to comment, however I looked at a ton of responses
    on We are what we repeatedly do. Therefore, excellence
    is not an act. It is a habit. – Aristotle Fat as Hell.
    I actually do have some questions for you if you do not mind.

    Is it just me or does it appear like a few of the responses come across like they are written by brain dead
    folks? :-P And, if you are writing at other sites, I’d
    like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of
    every one of all your social community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
    or linkedin profile?

    Comment by the selfish giant download | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  54. I like the valuable info you provide in your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I’m quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

    Comment by divorce corp download | February 19, 2014 | Reply

  55. I every time emailed this webpage post page to all my friends, for the reason that
    if like to read it then my friends will too.

    Comment by HANDICAP BETTING | February 19, 2014 | Reply

  56. Good information. Lucky me I found your site by accident
    (stumbleupon). I’ve saved it for later!

    Comment by Run & Jump Film Gratis | February 19, 2014 | Reply

  57. Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot
    faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a
    fair price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

    Comment by Artwork Galleries | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  58. I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    Comment by un week-end à paris telecharger | March 14, 2014 | Reply

  59. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

    Comment by monuments men telecharger | March 14, 2014 | Reply

  60. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

    Comment by cinema | March 26, 2014 | Reply

  61. What’s up, this weekend is pleasant for me, because this
    occasion i am reading this fantastic educational article here
    at my residence.

    Comment by Telecharger Avast Gratuit 2014 | March 28, 2014 | Reply

  62. the situation should be extremely trending down in the upcoming years. Zambia might possibly be the logical step for digicube to become exchanged as money

    Comment by Ana Prez | March 19, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

