Fat as Hell…

and not going to take it anymore!

“Simplicity is the key to brilliance.” — Bruce Lee

In addition to making the commitment to myself to lose weight, over the last several months I have also dedicated myself to the task of making everything about my life better. Although losing weight is an important part of my overall health picture, doing that alone is not enough to make the *whole* me happy. Like all people, I am more than just the number on that scale every morning… and I’ve felt from the beginning that if I was going to be successful this time, I would need to try to think about all the aspects of my life that were unhealthy and then go about the business of changing them.

For me, a lot of this has had to do with reducing stress.

I’ve spent the last 10 years under a great deal of stress. In addition to being a middle school teacher (talk about stress!) I also worked a second job for 9 of the last 10 years. My husband I both worked two jobs, as a matter of fact, so that we could have material things that we thought would make us terribly happy. We bought houses and cars and filled them with all the things we thought we needed, while working all the time, sleeping very little, eating out nearly every night and watching our collective waistlines grow bigger and bigger. (Especially mine).

Then about a year ago, we decided that we’d had enough.

I was in the middle of graduate school when he was offered a new job, in a new city, that would afford us the chance to slow down and start over…. and that is exactly what we did. We sold our home(s), quit our jobs and moved to a new place on a complete leap of faith that has turned out to be the best thing we ever did. We both only work one job now… and while I’m still involved with the school system, and I still get to goof around with middle school kids each day, I’m no longer in the classroom, which has proven to be a wonderful, lower stress, move for me.

It may sound silly, but now, for me, the simplest things bring me such great joy. For example, the ability to just come home in the evening, cook a meal with my husband, go for a walk, do some laundry and still have time to read on the couch while he surfs the net or watches TV. All of those things seem like utter luxuries to me — things that we would have never had time for before. What’s more, I’m thoroughly convinced that they have had a huge impact on my ability to take off both the physical and mental weight that has been dragging me down for years.

Perhaps I’m just stating the obvious here, but when I’m happy and feel good about myself and my life, it is much easier to say no to whatever tempting food might be put in front of me. When I feel rested and good about who I am, making good choices isn’t hard — it just seems like part of the overall direction in which my life is headed.  Of course, I don’t always make the right choices, mind you, but I make them more often than not now — something I simply couldn’t do before.

Recently, Weight Watchers has been running a bunch of ads about their program not being a diet but rather a “lifestyle.” While I’m NOT a subscriber to WW, I do agree that making the kind of massive change that losing a significant amount of weight entails, must not be about a “diet” it must be about changing everything unhealthy in your life — otherwise, it just won’t work.  That said, I’m grateful for this chance to do just that. I feel so lucky that I’ve been given the opportunity to “start over” as it were and live a life that is based on other, far more healthy, priorities. I shudder to think what would have happened to me otherwise.

January 8, 2008 - Posted by | exercise, health, losing weight, motivation | , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. what a great post. i think we all need to sit down and reprioritize, especially with the new year just starting. i’ve done something similiar. with me, it’s my weight that kept me back from pursuing so many opportunities. i always felt so insecure, awkward, and scared and i used my weight as the scapegoat excuse for everything. i agree, it’s about a lifestyle change more than anything else. i’m more determined than ever to get myself back on track but losing the weight is just one aspect of a all-around life change. :)

    Comment by alice | January 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. alice: I truly know what you mean when you say “it’s my weight that kept me back from pursuing so many opportunities. i always felt so insecure, awkward, and scared and i used my weight as the scapegoat excuse for everything.” I don’t know about you, but for me this was such a self-defeating cycle. Like you, I’d find myself in a situation in which I was embarrassed or ashamed as a result of my weight and then, only to allow myself to look for solace or a few moments of pleasure in a plate full of food (–which of course, only made the thing that seemed to cause me pain in the first place, all that much worse). The thing is, I’m no idiot, and neither are you, and it’s really crazy to think about how intelligent people can allow themselves to be trapped by food and all of the issues that cause us to eat more than we should. I think what is clear is that it’s really not about the food at all, is it? At least not as much as people who haven’t gone through it would think. That said, I really appreciate this comment and I’m terribly pleased to know that you’ve reshuffled your cosmic deck as well and are currently playing with a winning hand. Good luck to you.

    Cheers!
    j

    PS: Do you have a blog that I can look at?

    Comment by justoofat | January 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. yes, i have a blog but i don’t update daily. maybe once (or twice) a week. :-/

    Comment by alice | January 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. oops, i thought it would automaticaly link to my blog since i am logged in but i guess not. here is my blog address:
    http://fatgirltriesagain.wordpress.com

    Comment by alice | January 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. Perform two sets of this exercise, 15-25 repetitions each.
    Always seek the insights of qualified health professional before starting any health program.
    Oats are fantastic for lowering cholesterol, a superb supply of fiber, and generating well packed energy shakes.

    Comment by Sheryl | November 16, 2012 | Reply

  6. Greetings I am so grateful I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Aol for something
    else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say
    thanks for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I
    have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a lot
    more, Please do keep up the superb b.

    Comment by phen375 | October 1, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

